llkafloor.blogg.se

Kek from home of the brave
Kek from home of the brave








is an almost lyrical story."- Voice of Youth Advocates "The boy's first-person narrative is immediately accessible. A memorable inside view of an outsider."- Publishers Weekly "This beautiful story of hope and resilience. Kek is both a representative of all immigrants and a character in his own right."- School Library Journal, Starred Review "Precise, highly accessible language evokes a wide range of emotions and simultaneously tells an initiation story. Thank Katherine Applegate for writing it."-Karen Hesse "Moving. I'm so very glad I did read Home of the Brave, and gained a sense of perspective on both my life and the life of African immigrants, and I look forward to reading it again in the future."Beautiful. I know that there really are people who are just like the various characters in the novel, and that makes it so much richer Home of the Brave truly is as much a lesson in empathy as it is an entertaining read.

kek from home of the brave

I can't really critique the story itself, because it feels like it's real. Or at least, I assume she does I don't actually know anything about African languages. By turning the narration (which by necessity is written in English) into poetry, Applegate captures the rhythm and beauty of Kek's language. It's clear that he's really feeling the disconnect between his own lyrical language and the foreign and - to his ears - harsh sound of English. I haven't read many books told entirely through verse, but the poetic format really works here to get the story across in Kek's very distinctive voice. Now that's off my chest, I suppose I should turn to the book itself. I get hung up sometimes on things like bad teachers or college decisions, and this book is a well-needed reminder to me that I really have nothing at all worth complaining about. I live in a wealthy country, in a (relatively) wealthy family, in a lifestyle that caters to my physical and emotional comfort. I recognize it, and sometimes feel bad about it. As a 21-century American kid, I am incredibly spoiled.Īnd I know that.










Kek from home of the brave